All schools

Virginia Tech

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University logo

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

PublicCDS 2024–25Blacksburg, VAEst. 1872 · 2,600 acres
College town
Students31,0357,289 first-years · 33% of classes under 20
Admit Rate55%
4-Yr Grad69.1%6-yr: 86.3% · Entered fall 2018
Net Price / Yr$17,894Mid-income est., in-state

Built for hands-on engineers and outdoors-minded students — but Virginia Tech meets only 58.6% of financial need, so check the aid math early.

More about Virginia Tech

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University enrolls 31,035 undergraduates in Blacksburg, Virginia — a college town — and admits 55% of applicants as a public university. 69.1% of students graduate in 4 years. Blacksburg isn't near a metro, so the internship pipeline runs two ways: the Corporate Research Center sits on the edge of campus with roughly 180 technology companies across 40 buildings, and Virginia Tech's engineering reputation pulls recruiters from the Washington, DC defense and tech corridor four hours north. Expect to relocate for a summer more often than commute to one.

31,035 undergraduates

Hiking and the outdoorsA walkable downtownEngineering and tech

Your next questions

Could I get in to Virginia Tech?

A few more (optional)

Applying

What would we pay?

$11,670 to $34,201 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

Tap your family income to see your band

College Scorecard 2024 estimate · in-state rates

What schools are like Virginia Tech?
SchoolAdmitUndergrads
Maryland45%31,875
NC State39.5%29,340
Clemson42.4%24,060
Compare all 4 side by side →
Should I apply early?

Virginia Tech offers Early Action, and it isn't binding: if you're admitted, you don't have to attend.

If your application is ready by November 15, applying early commits you to nothing. Some schools limit where else you can apply early, so check Virginia Tech's rules.

Deadlines and what early means here ↓
What does Virginia Tech look for?
  • Virginia Tech rates rigor of coursework, GPA, the essay, first-generation status, geographic residence and state residency Very Important.

    Virginia Tech CDS 2024–25, C7

Everything they weigh ↓

What You'll Actually Pay

Price after grants

$11,670 to $34,201 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

College Scorecard 2024 estimate · in-state rates

See the price at your income ↑

Sticker price

Full cost before aid: $36,951 a year in-state. Average need-based aid package: $14,947.

Aid and debt

$34,527

average debt at graduation

2,978

students got merit aid

about 10% of undergraduates

$3,559

average merit award

Not reported by this school: share receiving need-based grants.

Getting In

A note for out-of-state applicants

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University's out-of-state undergraduate share has already crossed a threshold set by Virginia's state budget law, which means the school can't let that share grow any further — though it isn't required to bring it back down. If you're applying from outside Virginia, this cap on further growth may affect your odds in ways the admit rate above doesn't show.

Per 2025 General Appropriation Act, Item 4-2.01.

Key dates

Early ActionNovember 15 · Notify: February 22
Regular DecisionMarch 1 · Notify: Not reported

Test scores

SAT, middle 50% by section: Reading 640–710 · Math 640–740. No combined range is published.

ACT, middle 50% of those who submitted: 28–32 · 9% of the class submitted

What they value

Very important
  • Course rigor (AP/IB)
  • GPA
  • Personal essay
  • First-gen status
  • Where you're from
  • In-state residency
Considered
  • SAT/ACT scores
  • Extracurriculars
  • Special talent
  • Character
  • Volunteer work
  • Work experience
Not considered
  • Class rank
  • Recommendations
  • Legacy status
  • Demonstrated interest

What this means for you

Virginia Tech rates three things you can work on as Very Important: course rigor, your essay, and your first-gen status.

More

Rigor means AP, IB, and dual enrollment carry real weight — make sure your mix of AP or IB courses is strong. The essay is weighted like your GPA. And being first-generation is a real plus in the decision here.

Virginia Tech doesn't consider demonstrated interest in admissions at all — visits and follow-up emails won't move the needle here.

Source: Common Data Set 2024–25, Section C7 (admissions factors)

Virginia Tech just showed you what it values in an application. Use that to write a Why-Virginia Tech essay that's actually about you — not a template.

Get sourced starting points for your essay

Student Life

33% of Virginia Tech classes have fewer than 20 students.

33%

under 20 students

45.9%

20 to 49

21.1%

50 or more

Every class section counts, labs and seminars included; first-year courses tend to be larger. Virginia Tech CDS 2024–25, I-3.

17:1

student:faculty ratio

Campus life

32.6%

first-years from out of state

~20%

in Greek life

Greek-life participation from Virginia Tech FSL (2025) — not reported in Virginia Tech's 2024–25 Common Data Set.

Who attends

  • White57%
  • Asian13.6%
  • Hispanic9.8%
  • Black5.9%
  • Multiracial5.7%
  • Unknown / other3.1%

Enrolled undergraduates; international students are counted separately and not included. Virginia Tech CDS 2024–25, B2.

Popular majors

Business/marketing21.9%
Engineering21.4%
Biological/life sciences8.2%
Social sciences7.6%
Computer and information sciences7.1%

Will They Graduate?

69.1% of Virginia Tech students graduate in 4 years.

69.1%

finish in 4 years

Entered fall 2018

86.3%

finish in 6 years

Entered fall 2018

93%

return after first year

Finishing late means paying for extra semesters, so the 4-year rate is the one that shows the cost.

Students with Pell Grants

79.1% finish in 6 years, against 86.3% of all students.

A 7.2-point gap: Pell Grant students finish less often than students overall.

City & Culture

Beyond the data — what it's actually like to spend four years in Blacksburg.

Blacksburg is a town of about 45,000 built around the university, with a compact brick downtown of restaurants and music venues that students walk to rather than drive to.

More

The setting is why many students pick it: the New River, the Jefferson National Forest and the Blue Ridge are all close enough for an afternoon, and a waterfall hike at the Cascades is thirty minutes out. The trade-off is isolation — Roanoke is the nearest city at 45 minutes, and Washington, DC is a four-hour drive. Campus carries the social calendar here, which suits students who want that and frustrates students who want a city.

The City

College town

Blacksburg, VA

Best For

Hiking and the outdoorsA walkable downtownEngineering and techBig-time footballSmall-town pace
Notable alumni

Notable Alumni

Science

Chris Kraft

NASA's first flight director and the architect of Mission Control, who ran the room through Mercury, Gemini and Apollo.

Class of 1944

Technology

Regina Dugan

The first woman to lead DARPA, who went on to build advanced-technology groups at Google and Facebook.

Business

Dave Calhoun

President and CEO of Boeing from 2020 to 2024, after a long run as a senior executive at General Electric and Nielsen.

Class of 1979

Arts

Homer Hickam

Author of the memoir Rocket Boys, adapted into the film October Sky, about a coal miner's son building rockets in West Virginia.

Class of 1964

Sports

Bruce Smith

The NFL's all-time career sack leader with 200, and a first-ballot inductee into both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

Alumni selected for name recognition and range of fields. Not from the Common Data Set.

Traditions

Traditions

Hokie Stone

Nearly every building on campus is faced in a gray-to-pink limestone cut from the university's own quarry, and new central-campus buildings are still required to carry it.

The Corps of Cadets

Virginia Tech has kept a residential military corps since 1872, on either a military-leader track through ROTC or a civilian citizen-leader track — but joining is entirely optional and the large majority of undergraduates are not cadets.

Ut Prosim and the Pylons

The 1896 motto, Latin for "That I May Serve," is carved into the eight War Memorial pylons alongside Brotherhood, Honor, Leadership, Sacrifice, Service, Loyalty and Duty, and is used in earnest rather than as decoration.

Enter Sandman

The Metallica track has opened Hokie football entrances at Lane Stadium since 2000, with the whole stadium jumping — routinely named the loudest entrance in college football.

The Ring Dance

Since 1934, juniors have received class rings redesigned fresh for every graduating class, exchanged at a formal dance.

Weekend escapes from Blacksburg

Weekend Escapes

Within driving distance from Blacksburg

Cascades Falls and Mountain Lake

30 minutes

A four-mile hike to a 66-foot waterfall in Pembroke, with the lodge used as the Dirty Dancing filming location just up the road.

Roanoke

45 minutes

The nearest real city — a downtown market, the Taubman art museum, and the closest access to the Blue Ridge Parkway.

New River Gorge National Park, WV

2 hours

Whitewater rafting, world-class rock climbing and the bridge, in one of the country's newest national parks.

Asheville, NC

3 hours 30 minutes

Mountain-town breweries, the Biltmore Estate and the southern end of the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Washington, DC

4 hours

A long haul up I-81, but the destination for free museums and the internship circuit many Hokie engineers end up on.

Getting there and game days

Getting There & Game Days

Nearest airport

Roanoke-Blacksburg Regional Airport (ROA)

45 minutes from campus

For international flights: Charlotte Douglas International Airport (CLT) — about 2 hours 45 minutes by car.

Pro sports nearby

  • Salem Red Sox MiLBAbout 45 minutes away
  • Carolina Panthers NFLAbout 3 hours away
  • Charlotte Hornets NBAAbout 3 hours away
Internships and jobs nearby

Career Proximity

Blacksburg isn't near a metro, so the internship pipeline runs two ways: the Corporate Research Center sits on the edge of campus with roughly 180 technology companies across 40 buildings, and Virginia Tech's engineering reputation pulls recruiters from the Washington, DC defense and tech corridor four hours north. Expect to relocate for a summer more often than commute to one.

Top Industries Nearby

Engineering and advanced manufacturingAutonomous vehicles and roboticsAerospace and defenseHealthcare

Major Employers

  • Virginia Tech
  • Torc Robotics
  • Volvo Trucks New River Valley
  • Moog
  • Carilion Clinic

Roanoke — about 45 minutes; Washington, DC is roughly 4 hours

Who thrives here

Who Thrives Here

Virginia Tech is a big, hands-on public university — about 31,000 undergraduates, a 17-to-1 student-faculty ratio, and only a third of classes under 20 students, so this is a place where you go find professors rather than being handed small seminars. The culture is unusually service-minded for a school this size: the motto Ut Prosim, "That I May Serve," gets used in earnest, and a residential Corps of Cadets has been part of campus since 1872 — joining is optional and most students don't, but its presence sets a tone. Blacksburg is a real college town in the Blue Ridge, which suits students who want the outdoors and frustrates students who want a city. The trade-off is money: Virginia Tech meets 58.6% of demonstrated need and its graduates leave with about $34,527 in debt, both a long way behind the private universities it competes with for engineers. It graduates 86.3% of students within six years, but only 69.1% in four.

Schools like Virginia Tech

Closest on admit rate, size, graduation rate, class ratio and public or private — among the 121 schools we cover.

  • 45% admit rate · 31,875 undergrads · 88.3% 6-yr grad rate

    $2,962 to $26,691 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

  • 39.5% admit rate · 29,340 undergrads · 85.5% 6-yr grad rate

    $6,382 to $24,652 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

  • 42.4% admit rate · 24,060 undergrads · 87.5% 6-yr grad rate

    $13,607 to $27,922 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

Compare Virginia Tech with these 3 →Browse all 121 schools →Building a college list? Start one here →

Admit rate, enrollment and graduation rate are from each school's Common Data Set (2025–26). Price ranges are College Scorecard estimates, in-state at public schools.