All schools

UVA

University of Virginia logo

University of Virginia

PublicCDS 2025–26Charlottesville, VAEst. 1819 · 1,682 acres
College town
Students17,8483,978 first-years · 44.1% of classes under 20
Admit Rate15.6%
4-Yr Grad90.8%6-yr: 94.4% · Entered fall 2019
Net Price / Yr$13,283Mid-income est., in-state

Ideal for students drawn to student self-governance and deep tradition at a top public university.

More about UVA

University of Virginia is Virginia's flagship public university, admitting 15.6% of applicants — with a meaningful advantage for Virginia residents. In-state tuition is $23,254/year. 90.8% of students graduate in 4 years. UVA sits two hours from Washington, D.C. and one hour from Richmond, which opens up government, policy, consulting, and finance internships without requiring a summer move.

90.8% of students finish in 4 years

Hiking & outdoorsHistoric architectureWalkable downtown

Your next questions

Could I get in to UVA?

A few more (optional)

Applying

What would we pay?

$8,174 to $35,402 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

Tap your family income to see your band

College Scorecard 2024 estimate · in-state rates

Out-of-state tuition and fees alone are $62,980 a year, before room, board or aid (UVA CDS 2025–26, G1).

What schools are like UVA?
SchoolAdmitUndergrads
UNC Chapel Hill16.7%22,007
Michigan16.4%35,358
Cal Poly SLO30%22,313
Compare all 4 side by side →
Should I apply early?

UVA offers Early Decision, and it's binding: if you're admitted, you commit to attend.

27.7% of Early Decision applicants were admitted, against 14.6% in Regular Decision. Early pools include recruited athletes and legacy applicants, so not all of that gap comes from applying early.

It fits only if UVA is your clear first choice and your family can accept its aid offer without comparing others (due Nov 1).

UVA also offers Early Action, which isn't binding (due Nov 1).

Deadlines and what early means here ↓
What does UVA look for?
  • UVA rates rigor of coursework, class rank, GPA, character and state residency Very Important.

    UVA CDS 2025–26, C7

Everything they weigh ↓

What You'll Actually Pay

Price after grants

$8,174 to $35,402 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

College Scorecard 2024 estimate · in-state rates

See the price at your income ↑

Sticker price

Full cost before aid: $39,926 a year in-state. Average need-based aid package: $40,170.

Aid and debt

30%

receive need-based grants

$28,111

average debt at graduation

Not reported by this school: merit aid.

Getting In

Admit rates

15.6%

admitted overall

27.7%

admitted Early Decision

14.6%

admitted Regular Decision

A note for out-of-state applicants

The University of Virginia's out-of-state undergraduate share has already crossed a threshold set by Virginia's state budget law, which means the school can't let that share grow any further — though it isn't required to bring it back down. If you're applying from outside Virginia, this cap on further growth may affect your odds in ways the admit rate above doesn't show.

Per 2025 General Appropriation Act, Item 4-2.01.

Early Decision

Early Decision applicants were admitted at nearly 2x the Regular Decision rate, and Early Decision is binding: you commit to attend if admitted.

More

Some of that gap reflects who applies early (recruited athletes, legacy applicants and highly committed students concentrate in that pool), so it isn't proof that applying early would raise any one student's own odds.

Key dates

Early DecisionNov 1 · Notify: Dec 15
Early ActionNov 1 · Notify: Feb 15
Regular DecisionJan 5 · Notify: Apr 1

Test scores

SAT, middle 50% of those who submitted: 1410–1510 · 49% of the class submitted

ACT, middle 50% of those who submitted: 32–34 · 15% of the class submitted

90.3% were in the top 10% of their high school class.

What they value

Very important
  • Course rigor (AP/IB)
  • Class rank
  • GPA
  • Character
  • In-state residency
Important
  • Personal essay
  • Recommendations
  • Extracurriculars
  • Special talent
Considered
  • SAT/ACT scores
  • First-gen status
  • Where you're from
  • Volunteer work
  • Work experience
Not considered
  • Legacy status
  • Demonstrated interest

What this means for you

UVA rates course rigor as Very Important, and your essay, your recommendations, and your activities as Important.

More

Rigor means AP, IB, and dual enrollment carry real weight — make sure your mix of AP or IB courses is strong. A strong essay can differentiate an otherwise average application. Recommendations matter here too — a recommender who knows you well helps. And depth and leadership in a few activities matter more than a long list.

UVA doesn't consider demonstrated interest in admissions at all — visits and follow-up emails won't move the needle here.

Source: Common Data Set 2025–26, Section C7 (admissions factors)

UVA just showed you what it values in an application. Use that to write a Why-UVA essay that's actually about you — not a template.

Get sourced starting points for your essay

Student Life

44.1% of UVA classes have fewer than 20 students.

44.1%

under 20 students

37.3%

20 to 49

18.6%

50 or more

Every class section counts, labs and seminars included; first-year courses tend to be larger. UVA CDS 2025–26, I-3.

14:1

student:faculty ratio

Campus life

30.8%

first-years from out of state

40.6%

live on campus

17.2%

of men in fraternities

24.3%

of women in sororities

Greek-life participation from UVA FSL (2025) — not reported in UVA's 2025–26 Common Data Set.

Who attends

  • White47.7%
  • Asian19.9%
  • Hispanic8.5%
  • Black7.5%
  • Multiracial5.9%
  • Unknown / other5.2%

Enrolled undergraduates; international students are counted separately and not included. UVA CDS 2025–26, B2.

Popular majors

Business/marketing14.9%
Social sciences12.4%
Computer and information sciences9.7%
Liberal arts/general studies9.2%
Engineering7.4%

Will They Graduate?

90.8% of UVA students graduate in 4 years.

90.8%

finish in 4 years

Entered fall 2019

94.4%

finish in 6 years

Entered fall 2019

97%

return after first year

Finishing late means paying for extra semesters, so the 4-year rate is the one that shows the cost.

Students with Pell Grants

90.1% finish in 6 years, against 94.4% of all students.

A 4.3-point gap: Pell Grant students finish less often than students overall.

City & Culture

Beyond the data — what it's actually like to spend four years in Charlottesville.

Charlottesville is a small city wrapped around a genuinely beautiful campus, with a brick pedestrian mall of restaurants and music venues a short walk from Grounds and the Blue Ridge Mountains visible on the horizon.

More

Wineries, hiking, and Monticello are all within half an hour. It suits students who want an outdoorsy, historic setting with a walkable town attached; Washington, D.C. is two hours up the road for internships, museums, and big-city weekends.

The City

College town

Charlottesville, VA

Best For

Hiking & outdoorsHistoric architectureWalkable downtown
Notable alumni

Notable Alumni

Arts

Edgar Allan Poe

Pioneer of the short story and the detective genre; his room on the West Range is preserved and open to visitors.

Arts

Tina Fey

Writer and performer behind 30 Rock and Mean Girls, and the first woman to serve as head writer of Saturday Night Live.

Media

Katie Couric

The first woman to solo-anchor a weeknight network evening news broadcast, after 15 years hosting the Today show.

Sports

Ralph Sampson

Three-time national college player of the year at Virginia and a Basketball Hall of Fame inductee.

Business

Paul Tudor Jones

Hedge fund founder who also started the Robin Hood Foundation, one of the largest anti-poverty organizations in New York.

Medicine

Walter Reed

Army physician whose research proved that yellow fever is transmitted by mosquitoes, transforming public health worldwide.

Alumni selected for name recognition and range of fields. Not from the Common Data Set.

Traditions

Traditions

Living on the Lawn

Each year a small group of fourth-years is selected to live in the original rooms Thomas Jefferson designed along the Lawn. The rooms have fireplaces but no private bathrooms, and residents still walk outside to shower — which is part of the appeal.

Lighting of the Lawn

Every December, students gather on the Lawn for an a cappella and dance performance that ends with the Rotunda and colonnades lit up at once. It began in 2001 as a community gathering and has become the biggest student event of the fall.

The Honor System

Students run their own honor system, investigating and adjudicating cases themselves rather than leaving it to the administration. It's why many exams at UVA are unproctored and take-home.

Weekend escapes from Charlottesville

Weekend Escapes

Within driving distance from Charlottesville

Shenandoah National Park

30 minutes

Skyline Drive, waterfall trails, and a stretch of the Appalachian Trail that's close enough for an afternoon trip.

Washington, D.C.

2 hours

Free Smithsonian museums, monuments, and the internship and interview circuit that draws a lot of UVA students.

Richmond

1 hour

Virginia's capital, with a strong restaurant scene, riverside rapids in the middle of the city, and the VMFA art museum.

Getting there and game days

Getting There & Game Days

Nearest airport

Charlottesville-Albemarle (CHO)

15 minutes from campus

For international flights: Washington Dulles International (IAD) — about 2 hours by car.

Pro sports nearby

  • Washington Commanders NFLAbout 2 hours away
  • Washington Capitals NHLAbout 2 hours away
  • Richmond Flying Squirrels MiLBAbout 1 hour away
Internships and jobs nearby

Career Proximity

UVA sits two hours from Washington, D.C. and one hour from Richmond, which opens up government, policy, consulting, and finance internships without requiring a summer move.

Top Industries Nearby

Government & policyConsultingFinanceBiotech & healthcare

Major Employers

  • Deloitte
  • Capital One
  • CFA Institute
  • UVA Health
  • Booz Allen Hamilton

Washington, D.C. — about 2 hours from Grounds

Who thrives here

Who Thrives Here

UVA pairs a 90.8% four-year graduation rate with a commitment to meet 100% of demonstrated need, and about six in ten undergraduates are Virginians — so this reads very differently depending on which side of the state line your family lives on. The culture is traditional and self-governing: students run their own honor system and adjudicate cases themselves, which is why many exams here are unproctored take-homes.

Schools like UVA

Closest on admit rate, size, graduation rate, class ratio and public or private — among the 121 schools we cover.

  • 16.7% admit rate · 22,007 undergrads · 91.1% 6-yr grad rate

    $2,004 to $24,396 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

  • 16.4% admit rate · 35,358 undergrads · 93.2% 6-yr grad rate

    $1,043 to $26,517 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

  • 30% admit rate · 22,313 undergrads · 87.3% 6-yr grad rate

    $7,253 to $27,772 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

Compare UVA with these 3 →Browse all 121 schools →Building a college list? Start one here →

Admit rate, enrollment and graduation rate are from each school's Common Data Set (2025–26). Price ranges are College Scorecard estimates, in-state at public schools.