All schools

UC Riverside

University of California, Riverside logo

University of California, Riverside

PublicCDS 2025–26Riverside, CAEst. 1954 · 1,900 acres
Mid-size city
Students24,0346,686 first-years · 29.1% of classes under 20
Admit Rate86.1%
4-Yr Grad64.2%6-yr: 75.5% · Entered fall 2019
Net Price / Yr$13,111Mid-income est., in-state

UC Riverside admits 86.1% of applicants, does not look at SAT or ACT scores, and graduates its Pell-grant students at 74.7% against 75.5% overall — a gap most universities cannot close.

More about UC Riverside

University of California, Riverside enrolls 24,034 undergraduates in Riverside, California — a mid-size city — and admits 86.1% of applicants as a public university. 64.2% of students graduate in 4 years. The Inland Empire is one of the largest logistics and distribution regions in the country, and Riverside's own economy runs on that plus health care, agriculture research and government.

24,034 undergraduates

Students who want into the UC system on the strength of a transcript aloneFirst-generation students, at a campus where Pell recipients finish at nearly the overall rateAnyone who wants Los Angeles, the desert and the mountains all within about an hour

Your next questions

Could I get in to UC Riverside?

A few more (optional)

Applying

What would we pay?

$8,852 to $30,393 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

Tap your family income to see your band

College Scorecard 2024 estimate · in-state rates

What schools are like UC Riverside?
SchoolAdmitUndergrads
UC Santa Cruz72.7%18,194
UT Dallas69.1%23,007
Arkansas73.9%29,252
Compare all 4 side by side →
Should I apply early?

UC Riverside has no early round; Regular Decision is due Dec 2.

Deadlines and what early means here ↓
What does UC Riverside look for?
  • UC Riverside rates GPA and the essay Very Important.

    UC Riverside CDS 2025–26, C7

Everything they weigh ↓

What You'll Actually Pay

Price after grants

$8,852 to $30,393 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

College Scorecard 2024 estimate · in-state rates

See the price at your income ↑

Sticker price

Full cost before aid: $38,942 a year in-state. Average need-based aid package: $30,420.

Aid and debt

63.2%

receive need-based grants

$18,621

average debt at graduation

986

students got merit aid

about 4% of undergraduates

$7,204

average merit award

Getting In

A note for out-of-state applicants

University of California, Riverside is bound by a California rule capping how much of its undergraduate class can come from outside the state. If you're applying from outside California, you're competing for a limited, separately-capped share of seats — a different picture than the admit rate above shows.

Per UC Regents Policy 2109.

Key dates

Early ActionNo EA program · Notify: —
Regular DecisionDec 2 · Notify: Mar 31

Test scores

SAT composite range not reported by this school.

ACT composite range not reported by this school.

What they value

Very important
  • GPA
  • Personal essay
Important
  • Course rigor (AP/IB)
Considered
  • Special talent
  • First-gen status
  • In-state residency
Not considered
  • Class rank
  • SAT/ACT scores
  • Recommendations
  • Extracurriculars
  • Character
  • Legacy status
  • Where you're from
  • Volunteer work
  • Work experience
  • Demonstrated interest

What this means for you

UC Riverside rates your essay as Very Important, and course rigor as Important.

More

The essay is weighted like your GPA. AP, IB, and dual-enrollment classes strengthen an application here — a strong mix of them helps.

UC Riverside doesn't consider demonstrated interest in admissions at all — visits and follow-up emails won't move the needle here.

Source: Common Data Set 2025–26, Section C7 (admissions factors)

UC Riverside just showed you what it values in an application. Use that to write a Why-UC Riverside essay that's actually about you — not a template.

Get sourced starting points for your essay

Student Life

29.1% of UC Riverside classes have fewer than 20 students.

29.1%

under 20 students

39.9%

20 to 49

31%

50 or more

Every class section counts, labs and seminars included; first-year courses tend to be larger. UC Riverside CDS 2025–26, I-3.

22:1

student:faculty ratio

Campus life

1.7%

first-years from out of state

38%

live on campus

2%

of men in fraternities

4%

of women in sororities

Who attends

  • Hispanic41.8%
  • Asian34.4%
  • White9.7%
  • Multiracial5.2%
  • Black3.9%
  • Unknown / other1.5%

Enrolled undergraduates; international students are counted separately and not included. UC Riverside CDS 2025–26, B2.

Popular majors

Biological/life sciences18.5%
Social sciences17.2%
Business/marketing15.2%
Psychology9.7%
Engineering7.5%

Will They Graduate?

64.2% of UC Riverside students graduate in 4 years.

64.2%

finish in 4 years

Entered fall 2019

75.5%

finish in 6 years

Entered fall 2019

88%

return after first year

Finishing late means paying for extra semesters, so the 4-year rate is the one that shows the cost.

Students with Pell Grants

74.7% finish in 6 years, against 75.5% of all students.

Pell Grant students finish at about the same rate as everyone else.

City & Culture

Beyond the data — what it's actually like to spend four years in Riverside.

Riverside is a city of roughly 315,000 in the Inland Empire, about an hour east of downtown Los Angeles and an hour from the coast.

More

The campus sits below Box Springs Mountain on the edge of town, with the Carillon bell tower at its centre and a botanic garden climbing the hillside behind it. It is a working Southern California city rather than a beach town or a college town — students commute widely, and the region's logistics and health-care employers are the ones next door.

The City

Mid-size city

Riverside, CA

Best For

Students who want into the UC system on the strength of a transcript aloneFirst-generation students, at a campus where Pell recipients finish at nearly the overall rateAnyone who wants Los Angeles, the desert and the mountains all within about an hourStudents staying close to family in Southern California
Notable alumni

Notable Alumni

Science

Richard R. Schrock

Won the 2005 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for developing metal catalysts for olefin metathesis, a reaction now used daily to make pharmaceuticals, fuels and synthetic fibres more cleanly. He took his bachelor's degree in chemistry here.

Class of 1967

Arts

Billy Collins

Served as Poet Laureate of the United States from 2001 to 2003, and is among the most widely read living American poets. He earned both his master's and his doctorate at Riverside.

Class of 1971

Media

Steve Breen

Won the Pulitzer Prize for editorial cartooning twice, in 1998 and 2009. He started drawing cartoons for The Highlander, the student paper, while taking a political science degree here.

Class of 1992

Politics

Michael Huerta

Ran the Federal Aviation Administration as its Administrator, overseeing US civil aviation and the integration of drones into national airspace.

Class of 1978

Alumni selected for name recognition and range of fields. Not from the Common Data Set.

Traditions

Traditions

The Carillon Bell Tower

The 161-foot tower at the centre of campus holds a 48-bell carillon and is the landmark students orient themselves by — concerts are played from it, and it appears on nearly everything the university prints.

The Highlanders and Scotty the Bear

Riverside runs a Scottish theme it chose deliberately at founding — Highlanders, tartan, and a pipe band — attached, unusually, to a bear mascot named Scotty.

The C on Box Springs Mountain

A large concrete C is set into the hillside above campus, built by students in the 1950s and repainted by them since. Hiking up to it is the standard first-week outing.

Weekend escapes from Riverside

Weekend Escapes

Within driving distance from Riverside

Joshua Tree National Park

About 1 hour 30 minutes

The nearest national park, and the classic desert weekend out of the Inland Empire.

Big Bear Lake

About 1 hour 15 minutes

Ski runs in winter and a lake in summer, up in the San Bernardino Mountains directly north of campus.

Los Angeles and the Orange County beaches

About 1 hour

Both are roughly an hour in opposite directions, traffic permitting — the reason many students describe Riverside as central rather than remote.

Getting there and game days

Getting There & Game Days

Nearest airport

Ontario International Airport (ONT)

About 25 minutes from campus

For international flights: Los Angeles International (LAX) — about 1 hour 15 minutes by road.

Pro sports nearby

  • Ontario Reign AHLAbout 25 minutes away
  • Los Angeles Dodgers MLBAbout 1 hour away
  • Los Angeles Angels MLBAbout 50 minutes away
  • Los Angeles Lakers NBAAbout 1 hour 15 minutes away
Internships and jobs nearby

Career Proximity

The Inland Empire is one of the largest logistics and distribution regions in the country, and Riverside's own economy runs on that plus health care, agriculture research and government.

Top Industries Nearby

Logistics and distributionHealth careAgriculture and food scienceEducationPublic administration

Major Employers

  • Amazon
  • Kaiser Permanente
  • Riverside University Health System
  • County of Riverside
  • Esri
  • Bourns

Downtown Los Angeles, about 1 hour west; Ontario's logistics corridor is about 20 minutes

Who thrives here

Who Thrives Here

UC Riverside is test-blind, so no SAT or ACT score is read, and it admits 86.1% of applicants — which makes it one of the genuinely reachable doors into the University of California. What it reads is the transcript: the average high school GPA of enrolled first-years is 3.75, and the application essay is rated Very Important while recommendations, interviews and extracurricular activities are all marked Not Considered. The student body looks like California rather than like a selective university: 41.8% Hispanic, 34.4% Asian, 9.7% white, 3.9% Black, with 96.2% of the entering class from in-state. The number worth pausing on is the one underneath that: 74.7% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 75.5% of all students, so students who arrive with the least finish at very nearly the same rate as everyone else. The trade-off is scale in the classroom. Teaching runs at 22 students per faculty member, only 29.1% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, and 253 of 1,585 sections carry 100 or more. Aid covers 82.7% of demonstrated need, and graduates who borrow leave owing $18,621.

Schools like UC Riverside

Closest on admit rate, size, graduation rate, class ratio and public or private — among the 121 schools we cover.

  • 72.7% admit rate · 18,194 undergrads · 73.8% 6-yr grad rate

    $8,717 to $33,323 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

  • 69.1% admit rate · 23,007 undergrads · 79.2% 6-yr grad rate

    $12,814 to $26,596 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

  • 73.9% admit rate · 29,252 undergrads · 70.9% 6-yr grad rate

    $14,319 to $22,470 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

Compare UC Riverside with these 3 →Browse all 121 schools →Building a college list? Start one here →

Admit rate, enrollment and graduation rate are from each school's Common Data Set (2025–26). Price ranges are College Scorecard estimates, in-state at public schools.