All schools

Kansas

University of Kansas logo

University of Kansas

PublicCDS 2025–26Lawrence, KSEst. 1865 · 1,000 acres
College town
Students22,5445,040 first-years · 38.6% of classes under 20
Admit Rate92.6%
4-Yr Grad55.6%6-yr: 70% · Entered fall 2019
Net Price / Yr$15,154Mid-income est., in-state

A perennial national-title contender in men's basketball with a highly accessible admissions bar and a big-metro job market forty-five minutes away.

More about Kansas

University of Kansas enrolls 22,544 undergraduates in Lawrence, Kansas — a college town — and admits 92.6% of applicants as a public university. 55.6% of students graduate in 4 years. Kansas City's corporate corridor sits about 45 minutes from campus, anchored by Garmin, H&R Block, Black & Veatch, AMC Theatres, Hallmark Cards and Oracle Health (formerly Cerner) — so internships in engineering, health IT and financial services here are a commute, not a summer relocation.

22,544 undergraduates

Students who want big-time Big 12 basketball to be part of daily life, not just game dayKansas residents, who pay well under half the out-of-state price at their own flagshipAnyone who wants a genuine college town with a major metro's job market and pro sports forty-five minutes away

Your next questions

Could I get in to Kansas?

A few more (optional)

Applying

What would we pay?

$12,544 to $22,544 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

Tap your family income to see your band

College Scorecard 2024 estimate · in-state rates

Out-of-state tuition and fees alone are $31,332 a year, before room, board or aid (Kansas CDS 2025–26, G1).

What schools are like Kansas?
SchoolAdmitUndergrads
Ole Miss97.4%22,939
Oregon87.4%20,710
Kentucky93.5%27,386
Compare all 4 side by side →
Should I apply early?

Kansas has no early round; Regular Decision is due Rolling.

Deadlines and what early means here ↓
What does Kansas look for?
  • Kansas rates GPA Very Important.

    Kansas CDS 2025–26, C7

Everything they weigh ↓

What You'll Actually Pay

Price after grants

$12,544 to $22,544 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

College Scorecard 2024 estimate · in-state rates

See the price at your income ↑

Sticker price

Full cost before aid: $26,751 a year in-state. Average need-based aid package: $19,571.

Aid and debt

33.3%

receive need-based grants

$24,000

average debt at graduation

7,853

students got merit aid

about 35% of undergraduates

$8,270

average merit award

Getting In

Key dates

Early ActionNo EA program · Notify: —
Regular DecisionRolling · Notify: Not reported

Transfer Deadlines

PriorityAug 1
FinalAug 15
NotificationNot reported

Test scores

SAT, middle 50% of those who submitted: 1080–1280 · 7% of the class submitted

ACT, middle 50% of those who submitted: 20–28 · 51% of the class submitted

26% were in the top 10% of their high school class.

What they value

Very important
  • GPA
Considered
  • SAT/ACT scores
Not considered
  • Course rigor (AP/IB)
  • Class rank
  • Personal essay
  • Recommendations
  • Extracurriculars
  • Special talent
  • Character
  • First-gen status
  • Legacy status
  • Where you're from
  • In-state residency
  • Volunteer work
  • Work experience
  • Demonstrated interest

What this means for you

Kansas doesn't consider demonstrated interest in admissions at all — visits and follow-up emails won't move the needle here.

Source: Common Data Set 2025–26, Section C7 (admissions factors)

Kansas just showed you what it values in an application. Use that to write a Why-Kansas essay that's actually about you — not a template.

Get sourced starting points for your essay

Student Life

38.6% of Kansas classes have fewer than 20 students.

38.6%

under 20 students

43.1%

20 to 49

18.3%

50 or more

Every class section counts, labs and seminars included; first-year courses tend to be larger. Kansas CDS 2025–26, I-3.

18:1

student:faculty ratio

Campus life

38.8%

first-years from out of state

25%

live on campus

14%

of men in fraternities

28%

of women in sororities

Who attends

  • White68%
  • Hispanic11.4%
  • Multiracial6%
  • Asian5.8%
  • Black4.3%
  • Unknown / other0.8%

Enrolled undergraduates; international students are counted separately and not included. Kansas CDS 2025–26, B2.

Popular majors

Business/marketing21.2%
Health professions and related programs9.7%
Engineering8%
Psychology7.5%
Communication/journalism6.8%

Will They Graduate?

55.6% of Kansas students graduate in 4 years.

55.6%

finish in 4 years

Entered fall 2019

70%

finish in 6 years

Entered fall 2019

87%

return after first year

Finishing late means paying for extra semesters, so the 4-year rate is the one that shows the cost.

Students with Pell Grants

58% finish in 6 years, against 70% of all students.

A 12-point gap: Pell Grant students finish less often than students overall.

City & Culture

Beyond the data — what it's actually like to spend four years in Lawrence.

Lawrence sits on the Kansas River about 45 minutes west of downtown Kansas City, and campus climbs Mount Oread above Massachusetts Street — the historic downtown strip of independent shops, restaurants and live-music venues that gives the city its identity.

More

It was founded in 1854 by antislavery settlers and was the target of Quantrill's Raid during the Civil War, a history the city still marks every year. Basketball reorders the social calendar here more than in most college towns: Allen Fieldhouse sits a few blocks from the dorms, and the Rock Chalk chant carries down Mass Street after a win.

The City

College town

Lawrence, KS

Best For

Students who want big-time Big 12 basketball to be part of daily life, not just game dayKansas residents, who pay well under half the out-of-state price at their own flagshipAnyone who wants a genuine college town with a major metro's job market and pro sports forty-five minutes awayStudents comfortable with a highly accessible admissions bar who plan to build their case through coursework once enrolled
Notable alumni

Notable Alumni

Sports

Wilt Chamberlain

One of the most dominant players in basketball history. He played center at Kansas from 1956 to 1958 before turning pro, then went on to score 100 points in a single NBA game, win four MVP awards, take two championships, and enter the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Sports

Gale Sayers

Running back known as the "Kansas Comet," who played for the Jayhawks from 1962 to 1964 before becoming NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year and a five-time Pro Bowler with the Chicago Bears. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1977 and is still its youngest inductee.

Arts

William Inge

Playwright who won the Pulitzer Prize for Drama for Picnic and an Academy Award for the screenplay of Splendor in the Grass. He graduated from the University of Kansas in 1935 with a degree in speech and drama, and his plays became known for their portraits of small-town Midwestern life.

Class of 1935

Arts

Sara Paretsky

Novelist who created the V.I. Warshawski detective series and is considered the founding mother of Sisters in Crime, an organization supporting women in mystery writing. She earned her bachelor's degree at the University of Kansas before completing an MBA and a PhD in history at the University of Chicago.

Alumni selected for name recognition and range of fields. Not from the Common Data Set.

Traditions

Traditions

Rock Chalk Chant

The chant — "Rock chalk, Jayhawk, KU" — was born in 1886 when a KU science club wanted a cheer of its own, and "rock chalk" nods to the chalky limestone of Mount Oread, the ridge campus sits on. It has been used at Jayhawk games for well over a century and is regularly named among the great chants in college sports.

Late Night in the Phog

The annual midnight kickoff to men's and women's basketball season at Allen Fieldhouse, with team introductions, scrimmages and past musical guests including Snoop Dogg and 2 Chainz. It's the unofficial start of Kansas basketball every fall.

Beware of the Phog

A banner reading "Pay Heed, All Who Enter: Beware of the Phog" hangs above the championship banners in Allen Fieldhouse. Students first made it out of dormitory shower curtains before a 1988 game against Duke, and the original now hangs in the Booth Family Hall of Athletics.

Weekend escapes from Lawrence

Weekend Escapes

Within driving distance from Lawrence

Kansas City

45 minutes

A major metro with the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, the Country Club Plaza, the Power & Light District, and some of the country's best barbecue.

Topeka

25 minutes

The Kansas state capital, with the domed Kansas State Capitol building and the Combat Air Museum.

St. Louis, Missouri

About 3 hours 45 minutes

The Gateway Arch, the City Museum, and Cardinals baseball at Busch Stadium.

Getting there and game days

Getting There & Game Days

Nearest airport

Kansas City International (MCI)

50 minutes from campus

For international flights: Dallas/Fort Worth International (DFW) — about 8 hours by road, or one connecting flight.

Pro sports nearby

  • Kansas City Chiefs NFL
  • Kansas City Royals MLB
  • Sporting Kansas City MLS
Internships and jobs nearby

Career Proximity

Kansas City's corporate corridor sits about 45 minutes from campus, anchored by Garmin, H&R Block, Black & Veatch, AMC Theatres, Hallmark Cards and Oracle Health (formerly Cerner) — so internships in engineering, health IT and financial services here are a commute, not a summer relocation.

Top Industries Nearby

Health IT & healthcareEngineering & architectureFinancial servicesLogistics & aviation technology

Major Employers

  • Garmin
  • H&R Block
  • Black & Veatch
  • AMC Theatres
  • Hallmark Cards
  • Oracle Health (Cerner)

Kansas City — about 45 minutes from campus

Who thrives here

Who Thrives Here

Kansas admits 92.6% of applicants and enrolls 22,544 undergraduates in Lawrence, a genuine college town about 45 minutes from Kansas City's job market and pro sports teams. Basketball is the defining culture here rather than a footnote: Allen Fieldhouse — nicknamed "The Phog" — is one of the sport's most storied arenas, the Rock Chalk chant dates to 1886, and Late Night in the Phog kicks off preseason at midnight every fall. Greek life is present without dominating — 14% of men and 28% of women join — and only 25% of undergraduates live in university housing, so most of campus life happens off Mount Oread. The real trade-off is time-to-degree: just 55.6% finish in four years, though 70.0% get there within six, so a Jayhawk's own plan should budget for the slower path. In-state students pay $12,453 a year and everyone else pays $31,332.

Schools like Kansas

Closest on admit rate, size, graduation rate, class ratio and public or private — among the 121 schools we cover.

  • 97.4% admit rate · 22,939 undergrads · 70.3% 6-yr grad rate

    $8,945 to $21,313 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

  • 87.4% admit rate · 20,710 undergrads · 70.8% 6-yr grad rate

    $15,760 to $31,021 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

  • 93.5% admit rate · 27,386 undergrads · 71.5% 6-yr grad rate

    $12,119 to $26,781 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

Compare Kansas with these 3 →Browse all 121 schools →Building a college list? Start one here →

Admit rate, enrollment and graduation rate are from each school's Common Data Set (2025–26). Price ranges are College Scorecard estimates, in-state at public schools.