All schools

JMU

James Madison University logo

James Madison University

PublicCDS 2025–26Harrisonburg, VAEst. 1908 · 785 acres
College town
Students21,3584,935 first-years · 36% of classes under 20
Admit Rate68.8%
4-Yr Grad63.6%6-yr: 79.6% · Entered fall 2019
Net Price / Yr$16,475Mid-income est., in-state

Ideal for Virginia residents who want a high-spirit campus at $14,620 in-state, at admission odds that make it a realistic target.

More about JMU

James Madison University enrolls 21,358 undergraduates in Harrisonburg, Virginia — a college town — and admits 68.8% of applicants as a public university. 63.6% of students graduate in 4 years. Day-to-day internships are local - healthcare, food manufacturing and education - while the Northern Virginia and DC corridor, about two hours up I-81 and I-66, is where most career-track internships and first jobs sit.

21,358 undergraduates

Mountain accessCulinary districtFarmers markets

Your next questions

Could I get in to JMU?

A few more (optional)

Applying

What would we pay?

$11,444 to $30,147 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

Tap your family income to see your band

College Scorecard 2024 estimate · in-state rates

What schools are like JMU?
SchoolAdmitUndergrads
UMass Amherst59.9%24,019
Delaware69.2%19,287
Miami (Ohio)75.4%16,816
Compare all 4 side by side →
Should I apply early?

JMU offers Early Action, and it isn't binding: if you're admitted, you don't have to attend.

If your application is ready by November 1, applying early commits you to nothing. Some schools limit where else you can apply early, so check JMU's rules.

Deadlines and what early means here ↓
What does JMU look for?
  • JMU rates rigor of coursework and GPA Very Important.

    JMU CDS 2025–26, C7

Everything they weigh ↓

What You'll Actually Pay

Price after grants

$11,444 to $30,147 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

College Scorecard 2024 estimate · in-state rates

See the price at your income ↑

Sticker price

Full cost before aid: $31,735 a year in-state. Average need-based aid package: $14,343.

Aid and debt

24.3%

receive need-based grants

$32,162

average debt at graduation

661

students got merit aid

about 3% of undergraduates

$6,873

average merit award

Getting In

A note for out-of-state applicants

James Madison University's out-of-state undergraduate share has already crossed a threshold set by Virginia's state budget law, which means the school can't let that share grow any further — though it isn't required to bring it back down. If you're applying from outside Virginia, this cap on further growth may affect your odds in ways the admit rate above doesn't show.

Per 2025 General Appropriation Act, Item 4-2.01.

Key dates

Early ActionNovember 1 · Notify: January 31
Regular DecisionJan 15 · Notify: March 1

Transfer Deadlines

PriorityNot reported
FinalMarch 1
NotificationApril 15

Test scores

SAT, middle 50% of those who submitted: 1180–1330 · 16% of the class submitted

ACT, middle 50% of those who submitted: 24–29 · 3% of the class submitted

What they value

Very important
  • Course rigor (AP/IB)
  • GPA
Important
  • First-gen status
  • In-state residency
Considered
  • SAT/ACT scores
  • Personal essay
  • Recommendations
  • Extracurriculars
  • Special talent
  • Character
  • Where you're from
  • Volunteer work
  • Work experience
  • Demonstrated interest
Not considered
  • Class rank
  • Legacy status

What this means for you

JMU rates course rigor as Very Important, and your first-gen status as Important.

More

Rigor means AP, IB, and dual enrollment carry real weight — make sure your mix of AP or IB courses is strong. Being first-generation can help your application here.

JMU rates demonstrated interest 'Considered' — it can tip a close decision, without being decisive.

Source: Common Data Set 2025–26, Section C7 (admissions factors)

JMU just showed you what it values in an application. Use that to write a Why-JMU essay that's actually about you — not a template.

Get sourced starting points for your essay

Student Life

36% of JMU classes have fewer than 20 students.

36%

under 20 students

52.6%

20 to 49

11.4%

50 or more

Every class section counts, labs and seminars included; first-year courses tend to be larger. JMU CDS 2025–26, I-3.

17:1

student:faculty ratio

Campus life

28.3%

first-years from out of state

32%

live on campus

~20%

in Greek life

On-campus housing and Greek-life participation from JMU Residence Life (2025) — not reported in JMU's 2025–26 Common Data Set.

Who attends

  • White70.5%
  • Hispanic9.9%
  • Multiracial6%
  • Asian5.3%
  • Black4.9%
  • Unknown / other2.4%

Enrolled undergraduates; international students are counted separately and not included. JMU CDS 2025–26, B2.

Popular majors

Health professions and related programs17.5%
Business/marketing15.1%
Communication/journalism9.7%
Parks and recreation7.2%
Social sciences7%

Will They Graduate?

63.6% of JMU students graduate in 4 years.

63.6%

finish in 4 years

Entered fall 2019

79.6%

finish in 6 years

Entered fall 2019

91.36%

return after first year

Finishing late means paying for extra semesters, so the 4-year rate is the one that shows the cost.

Students with Pell Grants

69.8% finish in 6 years, against 79.6% of all students.

A 9.8-point gap: Pell Grant students finish less often than students overall.

City & Culture

Beyond the data — what it's actually like to spend four years in Harrisonburg.

Harrisonburg is a small Shenandoah Valley city of roughly 50,000 where JMU's student body is a large share of the population, so campus and downtown blend into each other rather than competing.

More

Downtown is walkable and unusually food-driven for its size - it was named Virginia's first culinary district - with the Blue Ridge and Allegheny ridgelines visible from campus and reachable in under an hour.

The City

College town

Harrisonburg, VA

Best For

Mountain accessCulinary districtFarmers markets
Notable alumni

Notable Alumni

Business

Kathy Warden

Chair, President and CEO of Northrop Grumman.

Media

Jim Acosta

Longtime CNN White House correspondent.

Business

Christina Tosi

Founder of Milk Bar and a MasterChef judge.

Politics

Levar Stoney

Mayor of Richmond, Virginia, 2017-2025.

Sports

Charles Haley

Pro Football Hall of Famer and the first player to win five Super Bowls.

Alumni selected for name recognition and range of fields. Not from the Common Data Set.

Traditions

Traditions

Streamers at the first touchdown

Fans throw purple and gold streamers onto the field the moment JMU scores its first touchdown at a home football game.

The J-M-U / Dukes call

When someone calls out 'J-M-U,' the crowd answers 'Duuuukes' while stepping forward and sweeping their arms outward.

Holding the door

Holding doors open for whoever is behind you is a campus-wide habit students notice immediately and describe as part of JMU's identity.

The Kissing Rock

A limestone outcrop unearthed on the Quad in the 1920s, where students once sat with dates to get around dorm visitation rules, and where campus lore says whoever you kiss is who you'll marry.

Weekend escapes from Harrisonburg

Weekend Escapes

Within driving distance from Harrisonburg

Massanutten Resort

25 minutes

Skiing and snowboarding in winter, mountain biking and a water park the rest of the year.

Shenandoah National Park and Skyline Drive

50 minutes

The Swift Run Gap entrance puts hiking, waterfalls and ridgeline overlooks within an easy day trip.

Charlottesville

1 hour

A bigger downtown mall, music venues and the UVA scene over the mountain.

Washington, DC

about 2 hours 15 minutes

Museums, concerts and internships - the standard long-weekend and career trip from campus.

Getting there and game days

Getting There & Game Days

Nearest airport

Shenandoah Valley Regional Airport (SHD)

25 minutes from campus

For international flights: Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD) — about 2 hours by car.

Pro sports nearby

  • Washington Commanders NFLAbout 2 hours away
  • Washington Capitals NHLAbout 2 hours away
  • Washington Nationals MLBAbout 2 hours away
Internships and jobs nearby

Career Proximity

Day-to-day internships are local - healthcare, food manufacturing and education - while the Northern Virginia and DC corridor, about two hours up I-81 and I-66, is where most career-track internships and first jobs sit.

Top Industries Nearby

Government and defense contractingHealthcareFood and poultry processingHigher educationConsulting and professional services

Major Employers

  • James Madison University
  • Sentara RMH Medical Center
  • Rockingham County and Harrisonburg City Public Schools
  • Pilgrim's Pride
  • Cargill
  • George's Foods

Washington, DC - about 2 hours 15 minutes from campus

Who thrives here

Who Thrives Here

JMU admits 68.8% of applicants and charges $14,620 in-state, which makes it genuinely accessible for a university of 21,358 undergraduates. Campus culture is communal in a way students notice immediately — purple and gold streamers get thrown onto the field at the first home touchdown, and holding the door for whoever is behind you is treated as part of the school's identity. The trade-off is aid: JMU meets 45.3% of demonstrated financial need and its graduates carry about $32,162 in debt, so families needing substantial need-based support should price this one carefully.

Schools like JMU

Closest on admit rate, size, graduation rate, class ratio and public or private — among the 121 schools we cover.

  • 59.9% admit rate · 24,019 undergrads · 81.3% 6-yr grad rate

    $10,164 to $30,793 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

  • 69.2% admit rate · 19,287 undergrads · 82.6% 6-yr grad rate

    $10,099 to $25,580 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

  • 75.4% admit rate · 16,816 undergrads · 79.8% 6-yr grad rate

    $16,015 to $31,431 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

Compare JMU with these 3 →Browse all 121 schools →Building a college list? Start one here →

Admit rate, enrollment and graduation rate are from each school's Common Data Set (each school's latest). Price ranges are College Scorecard estimates, in-state at public schools.