All schools

Buffalo

University at Buffalo logo

University at Buffalo

PublicCDS 2025–26Buffalo, NYEst. 1846 · 1,350 acres
Mid-size city
Students21,1925,155 first-years · 32.4% of classes under 20
Admit Rate80.6%
4-Yr Grad58%6-yr: 72.8% · Entered fall 2019
Net Price / Yr$21,262Mid-income est., in-state

A large New York research flagship admitting 80.6% at $11,036 in state, where only 35.0% of undergraduates live on campus.

More about Buffalo

University at Buffalo enrolls 21,192 undergraduates in Buffalo, New York — a mid-size city — and admits 80.6% of applicants as a public university. 58% of students graduate in 4 years. Buffalo's pipeline is health care and biomedical research through the downtown medical campus, alongside advanced manufacturing across western New York.

21,192 undergraduates

New York residents wanting a research university at the in-state priceStudents aiming at medicine, engineering or pharmacyAnyone who wants a real city rather than a college town

Your next questions

Could I get in to Buffalo?

A few more (optional)

Applying

What would we pay?

$14,668 to $28,079 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

Tap your family income to see your band

College Scorecard 2024 estimate · in-state rates

Out-of-state tuition and fees alone are $32,466 a year, before room, board or aid (Buffalo CDS 2025–26, G1).

What schools are like Buffalo?
SchoolAdmitUndergrads
Temple86.2%21,031
Mizzou78.5%24,449
Washington State86.1%21,400
Compare all 4 side by side →
Should I apply early?

Buffalo offers Early Action, and it isn't binding: if you're admitted, you don't have to attend.

If your application is ready by Nov 1, applying early commits you to nothing. Some schools limit where else you can apply early, so check Buffalo's rules.

Deadlines and what early means here ↓
What does Buffalo look for?
  • Buffalo rates rigor of coursework, GPA and test scores Very Important.

    Buffalo CDS 2025–26, C7

Everything they weigh ↓

What You'll Actually Pay

Price after grants

$14,668 to $28,079 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

College Scorecard 2024 estimate · in-state rates

See the price at your income ↑

Sticker price

Full cost before aid: $30,785 a year in-state. Average need-based aid package: $13,142.

Aid and debt

$36,063

average debt at graduation

1,090

students got merit aid

about 5% of undergraduates

$4,590

average merit award

Not reported by this school: share receiving need-based grants.

Getting In

Key dates

Early ActionNov 1 · Notify: Rolling
Regular DecisionNot reported · Notify: Not reported

Test scores

SAT, middle 50% by section: Reading 610–690 · Math 610–700. No combined range is published.

ACT, middle 50% of those who submitted: 27–31 · 2% of the class submitted

27% were in the top 10% of their high school class.

What they value

Very important
  • Course rigor (AP/IB)
  • GPA
  • SAT/ACT scores
Important
  • Class rank
  • Recommendations
Considered
  • Personal essay
  • Extracurriculars
  • Special talent
  • Character
  • First-gen status
  • Where you're from
  • Volunteer work
  • Work experience
Not considered
  • Legacy status
  • In-state residency
  • Demonstrated interest

What this means for you

Buffalo rates course rigor as Very Important, and your recommendations as Important.

More

Rigor means AP, IB, and dual enrollment carry real weight — make sure your mix of AP or IB courses is strong. Recommendations matter here too — a recommender who knows you well helps.

Buffalo doesn't consider demonstrated interest in admissions at all — visits and follow-up emails won't move the needle here.

Source: Common Data Set 2025–26, Section C7 (admissions factors)

Buffalo just showed you what it values in an application. Use that to write a Why-Buffalo essay that's actually about you — not a template.

Get sourced starting points for your essay

Student Life

32.4% of Buffalo classes have fewer than 20 students.

32.4%

under 20 students

48.7%

20 to 49

18.9%

50 or more

Every class section counts, labs and seminars included; first-year courses tend to be larger. Buffalo CDS 2025–26, I-3.

12:1

student:faculty ratio

Campus life

3.7%

first-years from out of state

35%

live on campus

0.3%

of men in fraternities

2%

of women in sororities

Who attends

  • White42.3%
  • Asian18.5%
  • Hispanic10.1%
  • Black9.9%
  • Multiracial4.3%
  • Unknown / other3.5%

Enrolled undergraduates; international students are counted separately and not included. Buffalo CDS 2025–26, B2.

Popular majors

Business/marketing16%
Engineering14%
Social sciences13%
Biological/life sciences10%
Psychology10%

Will They Graduate?

58% of Buffalo students graduate in 4 years.

58%

finish in 4 years

Entered fall 2019

72.8%

finish in 6 years

Entered fall 2019

84.8%

return after first year

Finishing late means paying for extra semesters, so the 4-year rate is the one that shows the cost.

Students with Pell Grants

67.6% finish in 6 years, against 72.8% of all students.

A 5.2-point gap: Pell Grant students finish less often than students overall.

City & Culture

Beyond the data — what it's actually like to spend four years in Buffalo.

Buffalo is a mid-sized city at the eastern end of Lake Erie, with the university's main undergraduate campus in suburban Amherst to the north and a second downtown medical campus.

More

Niagara Falls is half an hour away and Toronto under two hours.

The City

Mid-size city

Buffalo, NY

Best For

New York residents wanting a research university at the in-state priceStudents aiming at medicine, engineering or pharmacyAnyone who wants a real city rather than a college townStudents who don't mind genuine winters
Notable alumni

Notable Alumni

Media

Wolf Blitzer

CNN anchor and long-running host of The Situation Room, who took a BA in history at Buffalo

Class of 1970

Technology

Robin Li

Co-founder and chief executive of Baidu, who earned a master's in computer science at Buffalo

Class of 1994

Arts

Winston Duke

Actor known for M'Baku in Black Panther, who earned a BA in theatre at Buffalo before Yale's drama school

Alumni selected for name recognition and range of fields. Not from the Common Data Set.

Traditions

Traditions

Oozefest

A mud volleyball tournament held each spring on North Campus, running since 1983 and among the largest of its kind.

The two-campus split

Most undergraduates study on North Campus in Amherst while the medical and dental schools sit downtown, with a shuttle and a metro line linking them. Which campus a programme sits on shapes the experience noticeably.

Distinguished Speakers Series

A long-running lecture series that has brought heads of state, Nobel laureates and writers to campus since 1986.

Weekend escapes from Buffalo

Weekend Escapes

Within driving distance from Buffalo

Niagara Falls

30 minutes

The falls and the Canadian border crossing, both immediately northwest.

Toronto

2 hours

The nearest major international city, across the border — a passport makes it a routine weekend.

Ellicottville

1 hour

The nearest skiing, in the southern-tier hills.

Getting there and game days

Getting There & Game Days

Nearest airport

Buffalo Niagara International (BUF)

20 minutes from campus

For international flights: Toronto Pearson International (YYZ) — about 2 hours by road, including the border crossing.

Pro sports nearby

  • Buffalo Bills NFL
  • Buffalo Sabres NHL
Internships and jobs nearby

Career Proximity

Buffalo's pipeline is health care and biomedical research through the downtown medical campus, alongside advanced manufacturing across western New York.

Top Industries Nearby

Health care & medicineBiomedical researchEngineering & manufacturingFinancial services

Major Employers

  • Kaleida Health
  • Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • M&T Bank
  • Moog

Toronto, 2 hours

Who thrives here

Who Thrives Here

Buffalo admits 80.6% of applicants into a 21,192-student undergraduate body, which makes it more reachable than its research standing suggests. For a New York family the price is the argument: $11,036 in tuition and fees against $32,466 from out of state. It reports a student-faculty ratio of 12 to 1, low for a public university of this size, though only 32.4% of sections have fewer than 20 students — the two figures together say small classes exist but are not what most weeks look like. Campus life is thinner than the enrolment implies: 35.0% live on campus and Greek life takes in 0.3% of men and 2% of women, so a large share of students commute to a university split across two campuses, with most undergraduate teaching north of the city in Amherst. Outcomes sit in the middle — 84.8% of first-years return, 58.0% finish in four years and 72.8% in six — and the money is the caution even in state, with 51.0% of demonstrated need met and $36,063 in average debt at graduation.

Schools like Buffalo

Closest on admit rate, size, graduation rate, class ratio and public or private — among the 121 schools we cover.

  • 86.2% admit rate · 21,031 undergrads · 73% 6-yr grad rate

    $22,694 to $34,947 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

  • 78.5% admit rate · 24,449 undergrads · 74.9% 6-yr grad rate

    $13,378 to $26,304 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

  • 86.1% admit rate · 21,400 undergrads · 62.8% 6-yr grad rate

    $7,074 to $24,726 a year for in-state students, depending on income.

Compare Buffalo with these 3 →Browse all 121 schools →Building a college list? Start one here →

Admit rate, enrollment and graduation rate are from each school's Common Data Set (each school's latest). Price ranges are College Scorecard estimates, in-state at public schools.